40th Anniversary - International Code of Marketing of Breast-milk Substitutes

Event date: 21-05-2021

On 21 May 2021, the World celebrates the 40th Anniversary of the adoption of the International Code of Marketing of Breast-milk Substitutes (otherwise known as the Code) by the 34th World Health Assembly on 21 May 1981. The Code aims to contribute to the provision of safe and adequate nutrition for infants by the protection and promotion of breast-feeding, and by ensuring the proper use of breast-milk substitutes, when these are necessary, on the basis of adequate information and through appropriate marketing and distribution.

In collaboration with UNICEF, the WHO, and partners, the Global Breastfeeding Collective will host a virtual meeting via Zoom to celebrate this milestone. This event aims to engage and equip delegates to strengthen country-level implementation of the Code, including its subsequent resolutions. As one in a series of major global events in the Year of Action on Nutrition, midway through the United Nations (UN) Decade of Action on Nutrition, the Code at 40 celebration will focus on mobilizing smart policy commitments to protect promote and support breastfeeding in all contexts. Outputs from this event will also be amplified in the UN Food Systems and Nutrition for Growth Summits later in 2021.

  • Date and time: Friday | 14:00 to 15:30 CET (8:00 am New York, 14:00 Geneva, 15:00 Nairobi, 17:00 Islamabad, 21:00 Tokyo)
  • Translation: English, Russian, French, Spanish, and Arabic
  • Organised by: Global Breastfeeding Collective
  • Registration link: click here

  • No translations available
  • Subscribe to our Newsletter for latest news.

    Subscribe!