Qui nous sommes

The International Confederation of Midwives (ICM) supports, represents and works to strengthen professional associations of midwives throughout the world. There are currently 132 Midwives Associations, representing 113 countries across every continent. ICM is organised in six regions:

  • Africa (Anglophone and Francophone)
  • Americas (North America & Caribbean and Latin America)
  • Western Pacific
  • Eastern Mediterranean
  • South East Asia
  • Europe (Northern, Central and Southern)

Together these associations represent 500,000 midwives globally. Click HERE to view elaborative distribution of the Member Associations.

ICM is an accredited non-governmental organisation and represents midwives and midwifery to organisations worldwide to achieve common goals in the care of mothers and newborns. ICM works closely with the WHO, UNFPA and other UN Agencies; global professional health care organisations including the International Federation of Gynecology and Obstetrics (FIGO), the International Pediatric Association (IPA), the International Council of Nurses (ICN), non-governmental organisations; bilateral and civil society groups.


Since the early 1900s there were a variety of international meetings of midwives on the European continent, with exception of an eight-year gap (1914-1922) due to WWII. In 1922, the International Midwives Union (IMU) was created in Belgium, the forerunner of the International Confederation of Midwives (ICM) and meetings of midwives in the European continent continued at uneven intervals, aslo affected by WWII. In 1954, the reconstituted IMU changed its name to ICM and appointed Marjorie Bays as the first Executive Secretary. The first Head Office was based in London and in 1999 the ICM Council decided to move the Head Office to The Hague, Netherlands where it has been since.


Abonnez-vous à notre newsletter pour les dernières nouvelles.